Miggy Stardust & Opening Day

I love baseball.  I have ever since I was little.  And while I’ve outgrown a lot of my childhood fancies (I no longer particularly wish to become an astronaut, for example), I still thrill at the crack of the bat, the bottom of the ninth, the stolen base, and the diving catch.

Baseball, however, appears as something of an outlier when my other interests are taken into consideration: art history, fashion, music, design, film, writing… and baseball?  I’ve started a new series of drawings to explore the intersection of baseball and some of those other interests.  I’m a staunch fan of the Milwaukee Brewers, so you can expect to see a few members of the brew crew in future installments.  But for the first piece, I’ve chosen Miguel Cabrera, a Detroit Tiger, and winner of the 2012 AL MVP and Triple Crown.  He’s known as “Miggy” to Tigers fans.  The connection, then, is fairly obvious.

I hope you enjoy.  And to everyone out there, happy opening day.  Baseball season is here!

Miggy Stardust

3 responses to “Miggy Stardust & Opening Day

  1. A good friend of mine used to say, ‘This is a very simple game. You throw the ball, you catch the ball, you hit the ball. Sometimes you win, sometimes you lose, sometimes it rains.’ Think about that for a while.”
    (Good ol’ Nuke…)

Leave a Reply

